Through the Years

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 9.28.09 AM

Lord, you have been our dwelling place in all generations. Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God. Psalm 90:1–2

REFLECTION:

Today I celebrate being on this earth for 38 years.

Today, I give thanks for the many, many people who have been a part of my story up to this point…

For friends I have had since Kindergarten…for the pastors and other church leaders who went above and beyond the call of duty to walk with me…for Mark, and Robert, and Steve who taught me what being a father looks like…for Dave H. and his investment in me at a critical time in my life…for the doctors who saved my life at age 14…for a mother and sister who stand by me no matter what…for a campus pastor who shaped my life…for close friends from college and seminary who are still an important part of my life…for a joy-filled and close relationship with my cousins…and for so many family members I can’t name them all…

And then, I give thanks for my partner, Jessica, and the life we have been blessed to build together.

I am grateful for the two beautiful human beings who are part me and part her – Charissa and Lucas and the joy they bring to our house.

Last, I give thanks for my current reality. For the friends and colleagues, congregation members and mentors. I am so richly blessed.

So, today I hear “you have been our dwelling place in all generations” a little differently. I am giving thanks for the ways God has been my dwelling place, and for the ways I know my same story of blessing, with different details, is lived out in billions of other lives.

Today, it’s all gratitude. Nothing profound…but yet, maybe it is. I find great peace in the simplicity of gratitude.

PRAYER:

God, thank you for the breath that fills our lungs today. Thank you for the many, many people who have been a part of my story, and the many people of whose story I am a part. Thank you for the blessing of human community. Give me the courage today to live boldly from this gratitude. Amen.

One thought on “Through the Years

Leave a comment