Run Fast. Eat Slow.

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 9.35.11 AM

O taste and see that the Lord is good; happy are those who take refuge in him. Psalm 34:8

Jesus says, “I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats of this bread will live forever.” John 6:51

REFLECTION:

In our family, my spouse is definitely the cook. She enjoys the artistry of it; finding ways to turn the ingredients in our fridge into something that delights. She also has a wonderful way of finding healthier options for old favorites. Last night, for example, we had vegetarian enchiladas…and for this guy who was raised on “meat and potatoes,” it was amazing. I’m already looking forward to the leftovers I have in the refrigerator at work.

She just recently bought a cookbook she is loving. It is called “Run Fast. Eat Slow.” As I read the Scriptures this morning, it was the title of this cookbook that came to mind.

As I look at the life I lead, I know I “run fast.” I keep a schedule that often fits together like a puzzle – each appointment or family event butting up against the next. I fill the spaces between with more activity; house projects, chores, an extra phone call to a friend here, an extra drop-in visit there. From the time I wake up until the time I finally collapse into bed, I am running.

The constant challenge for me is to “eat slow.” By this, I mean I constantly struggle with the balance between producing for others and savoring the gifts, strength, and peace that God offers me. Too often, I am apt to only take in what I need to survive; like someone wolfing down their meal to get to an appointment. Honestly, committing to do these devotions is one of the things that makes me slow down and savor my spiritual nourishment.

I know many of us struggle with this…and I wonder how many of us have taken time even today to “taste and see that the Lord is good.” Have we tasted? Have we savored? Or have we only consumed what we needed to survive?

My goal for today is to “eat slow;” to savor the moments I am given with the people around me; to take time to taste and see that indeed, God is good. Ironically, like an athlete, this is really the only way I’ll have the stamina to finish the race anyway.

So today, my prayer for myself and for those of you reading this is…may we run fast when we need to, but may we eat slow…may we savor the goodness of God’s gifts in our lives…may we taste and see that God is good.

PRAYER:

God, help us to slow down today. Give us the courage to say “no” to some things so we have space to breathe; space to savor; space to appreciate and be nourished by the gifts you pour out on us today. Thank you for your unending goodness. Help us to be still long enough to appreciate it. Amen.

Leave a Reply

