Into the Dark

Screen Shot 2017-08-07 at 9.40.12 AM

God reveals deep and hidden things. Daniel 2:22

Jesus said, “The Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything, and remind you of all that I have said to you.” John 14:26

REFLECTION:

A few years ago, there was a popular song by the group “Death Cab For Cutie” that I used as a part of one of my sermons. The lyrics, at first glance, paint a somewhat fatalistic picture of the nothingness beyond death. Here is the first verse and refrain:

Verse 1:
Love of mine, someday you will die
But I’ll be close behind and I’ll follow you into the dark
No blinding light or tunnels to gates of white
Just our hands clasped so tight, waiting for the hint of a spark
Refrain:
If heaven and hell decide that they both are satisfied
And illuminate the no’s on their vacancy signs
If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks
Then I’ll follow you into the dark

The lyrics assume a world in which human love is all there is; where death is a final void that is entered alone…and the young lovers sing to each other, “I’ll follow you into the dark.” It struck me then, as it did again this morning, that this is exactly the message of the cross. It is Christ saying to us, “You may think it is only darkness, but I am there.” And rather than follow us, Christ leads us through the dark.

The scriptures this morning reminded me that no matter what situations I enter today; no matter what depths I dive to internally or externally, no matter how light or dark my world seems…there is nowhere I can escape the presence of Love…the presence of Christ.

May we all walk today with that confidence…there is nowhere you can escape the presence of Love.

PRAYER:

Lord, you do not leave us to ourselves. You are nearer to us than the beating heart. At work and at rest, still us to notice the rhythm of your love in each quiet breath. Amen.*

*Prayer taken from the Moravian Daily Texts

Leave a Reply

