Seeing Through

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 9.49.51 AM

Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the Lord. Psalm 118:26

God’s love was revealed among us in this way: God sent his only Son into the world so that we might live through him. 1 John 4:9

REFLECTION:

I don’t wear glasses (yet), but when I was younger I always wished that I did.

I don’t know what it was…whether I thought my friends who had glasses looked “cool,” or whether I thought it would make me look smarter. Maybe it’s that the girl I liked had glasses – I truly don’t remember – but I always wanted them when I was a kid. Now that I am an adult, I feel blessed to still have 20/20 vision (though I know that’s only temporary!)

As I read the passages this morning, this is the analogy that came to my mind as I thought about what it means to live my life “through” Christ. It strikes me that just as a pair of glasses become that through which you see the entire world, so the Love revealed in Christ becomes the lens through which I am called to live, and to see myself and others.

It also strikes me that there is intention required to live in this way. Just like my spouse has to take time to put in her contacts, or put on her glasses in the morning, so I need to intentionally “put on Christ” at many, many moments throughout my day. This gift began at my baptism as a free gift…but daily, I need to be reminded of the ways that Christ is the lens through which I interact with the world.

So, that’s my prayer for all of us today; may Christ’s love be revealed to us, and may we live, and SEE each other through that love.

PRAYER:

God, in our baptisms, we have “put on Christ,” but we need to be daily reminded and refreshed in that gift. Help us to see ourselves, and all those around us, through your love today. Amen.

Leave a Reply

