Follow the Yellow Brick Road

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 8.14.25 AM

All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness, for those who keep his covenant and his decrees. Psalm 25:10

REFLECTION:

I have an aunt who is obsessed with the movie “The Wizard of Oz.” In her house, one of the guestrooms is THE “Wizard of Oz” room in which all of the collectibles reside. I’m not sure I ever want to sleep in that room, though…I’m pretty sure there are flying monkeys somewhere.

In “The Wizard of Oz,” the path to the Emerald City is paved with yellow bricks, showing the way. Dorothy certainly can, and does, stray off the path from time to time…but every time she does, there’s trouble…trees throwing fruit at her, or winged apes chasing her down.

I love the image in the passage above, because it reminds me that there are paths laid out for me today as well. There are many of them…many different directions I could travel…but they are paved with something far more beautiful than yellow bricks. The paths that God has laid out for me are paved with steadfast love and faithfulness.

This means two things to me as I begin this day…

First, if I am setting out on paths paved with God’s peace and love, I cannot go wrong. They may lead me to places I would not have chosen, but they assure me that I am never traveling alone.

Second, these paths are laid out for me out of love. I can wander off them, but I will find trouble there. May God give me the strength to trust that following Christ’s lead is the healthiest place for me to be.

Today, whatever path you are traveling, know that steadfast love and faithfulness are laid out before you. May God give us all the strength and trust to follow Christ’s lead.

PRAYER:

God, you walk with me always…but sometimes, I choose paths that are not healthy for me. Open my eyes to the choices I have today. Open my heart to the love you pour out to me…and the love that you pour out to others through me. Keep my feet on the path paved by your love. Amen.

Leave a Reply

